New Page 1

Author Topic: Gettysburg 1863, Osprey's Order of Battle Series.  (Read 79 times)

Offline onesixthworld

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 85
  • Country: au
Gettysburg 1863, Osprey's Order of Battle Series.
« on: October 24, 2017, 03:29:03 PM »
Osprey Order of Battle Series on Gettysburg, by James Arnold & Roberta Wiener. In the series are 6 books, 3 books covering each day of the Confederates involvement in the battle and 3 books covering each day of the Union involvement in the battle which lasted 3 days. Osprey published book 1 & 2, 1 July 1863 Confederate:The Army of Northern Virginia with it's companion book 1 July 1863 Union: The Army of the Potomac, then no 6 & 7 the same with 2 July 1863 and again with no's 10 & 11, 3 July 1863.Each book has a fold out map of Gettysburg and environs at the back.The books are full of information with a comprehensive organisation diagrams, the forces involved are examined unit by unit, including the 'tooth' combat elements and the vital 'tail'support troops, with the objectives of the operation analysed and this theory contrasted with the realities of the battle itself. Names of each unit with numbers in that unit, pictures of the commanding officer and the symbol of the unit are also included (there are some gaps as to the name of some Confederate units and numbers ) and coloured maps all the way through. All i can say is, these are 'Fantastic books' so much excellent detail, great for redoing the battle or parts of it , Wargaming or getting a more detailed closeup of the battle.